Garden 2013 (with a dose of Oahu)

The garden is in! I put it in way early this year because I knew I was going to be out of town every weekend in May except for the first one. It was risky, but the weather forecasts looked OK, so I went ahead and put my garden in on Saturday, May 4. Sounds crazy, I know. Clint also got the irrigation system set up, too. We’re a good team like that.

After that, I left town. First, I went home (Ontario, Canada) for my parents’ 40th anniversary party.

Our family at my parents' 40th anniversary party.

Our family at my parents’ 40th anniversary party.

Then, Clint and I went to Oahu, Hawaii, because he had a conference. Yea, it was pretty amazing, and I’ll be doing a couple blog posts on my other blog (we hiked quite a bit). For now, here are some quick collages :)

Kicking around the North Shore, Oahu.

Kicking around the North Shore, Oahu.

Our North Shore hike on the Kaunala Loop Trail.

Our North Shore hike on the Kaunala Loop Trail.

IMG_6063

My hike to Manoa Falls.

A Waikiki lichee martini, sliders, and sunset.

A Waikiki lichee martini, sliders, and sunset.

Upon our return from Oahu, the garden looked amazing and still does. Everything survived, and the weather has been superb! I’m growing the usual spread this year, and this weekend, we got our 35 tomatoes cages out on all of our tomatoes and tomatillos. I also put straw mulch in between the rows this year, instead of solid landscape fabric. It obviously doesn’t keep the weeds down as well, but it’ll have to do.

My lettuce is nearly ready to harvest. How fun is that? We’ve been eating a lot of salads recently, so it’ll be nice not to have to buy lettuce for the next month or two.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

Lettuce in the raised bed.

The garden pre-straw mulch.

The garden pre-straw mulch.

The garden post-straw mulch.

The garden post-straw mulch.

I also bought zucchini and some acorn squash starts mostly because we have room for them and that area is getting watered. I also bought a handful of water-wise perennials for our front and back yard landscaping. I typically try to go native, but I was at Home Depot, and they were there, and well, I bought them. It was that easy.

Goldflame Spirea

Goldflame Spirea

Lily of the Nile (Agapanthus africanus)

Lily of the Nile (Agapanthus africanus)

Gallery Blue Lupine (Lupinus x hybrida)

Gallery Blue Lupine (Lupinus x hybrida)

Ascot Rainbow spurge (Euphorbia x martinii)

Ascot Rainbow spurge (Euphorbia x martinii)

Buns also has her work cut out for her. This is her pen that I put her in every day after work. I usually leave her out there until I’m about to head to bed. She’s slowly working her way through all the dandelions in there.

Buns in her outdoor pen.

Buns in her outdoor pen.

3 thoughts on “Garden 2013 (with a dose of Oahu)

    • Thanks, Heidi! This might be the best year yet for our garden! And I’ve been eating fresh salad every day, which is pretty amazing. Glad you found my other blog :) Hope you’re doing well, and hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

